The A+W NZ Dulux Awards 2020 Jury announced;

We are very proud to announce our jury for the A+W NZ Dulux Awards 2020;
(L-R in image above)
Professor Lori Brown - Professor, Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Syracuse Architecture, Licenced Architect New York AIA, Co-Founder of ArchiteXX
Dr Julia Gatley - Associate Professor, the University of Auckland, previous Head of School, SoAP (2016-18), A+W NZ, MArch, PhD
Raukura Turei (Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki and Ngā Rauru Kītahi) - Monk Mackenzie Architects, ANZIA, NZRAB, Nga Aho, A+W NZ, MArch(Prof) (1st Hons)
Andrew Tu'inukuafe - Principal, Warren and Mahoney, ANZIA, NZRAB, FDINZ, AA Dip(Grad Des), BArch(Hons)

The task for the jury is to deliberate on all nominations in each of the three award categories. They select five Finalists in each category, and one winner from the Finalists.
All fifteen Finalists will be celebrated at the A+W NZ Dulux Awards 2020 Dinner, to be held in Ōtautahi Christchurch on Saturday 15 August 2020, when the category winners will be announced.


Important Dates:

Nominations open:  6 August 2019

Nominations close: 1 June 2020 (Since 1 June is a public holiday, extended to 2 June 6pm)

Announcement of 15 Finalists: 30 June 2020

Awards Event: Saturday 15 August 2020


The A+WNZ Dulux Awards support both of the two main aims of this non-profit organisation: visibility and inclusiveness. We are committed to removing as many barriers as possible for as many people as possible, and the awards are structured to lessen the usual reasons that awards are not entered by those active in the field of architecture.

How are the A+W•NZ Dulux Awards different from the many other (excellent) awards programmes?

  1. Entry to the A+W•NZ Dulux Awards is via nominiation or self-nomination - this circumvents the typical 'modesty' barrier which often prevents entries to awards, as well as providing opportunities to be generous to our peers, mentors and colleagues.
  2. Entry is free
  3. The workload associated with awards entries is lessened via the nomination process and online entry
  4. The A+W•NZ Dulux Awards celebrate 'bodies of work', rather than single architectural objects
  5. Eligibility includes groups as well as individuals 
  6. The A+W•NZ Dulux Awards are held triennially, not annually.

Below is a list of A+W•NZ members who are NOT elligible for the 2020 A+W•NZ Dulux Awards, due to current or past involvement with the Incorporated Society which may be perceived as a conflict of interest (note that some may become eligible in 2023, after 'standing down' for at least one award cycle);

Divya Purushotham

Lindley Naismith

Lynda Simmons

Ysabelle Empiso

Theja Jayalath

Suchi Undevia

Blagica Maneva

Anner Chong

Kitty Fan

Vanessa Coxhead

Wing Chan

Tara-Lee Carden

Annie Tong

Olivia Wong

Lucy Vete

Ashleigh Robson

Jessica Short (Jones)

Abigail Hurst (Thompson)

Elisapeta Heta

Nicole Allan

Sukshma Paranjpe

Raukura Turei

Julia Gatley

Andrew Tu-inukuafe

Dave Strachan

Bill McKay