Fifteen Finalists Announced for A+W•NZ Dulux Awards 2017

26 July 2017

A+W•NZ Dulux Awards 2017 

The Five Finalists in each of our Three Award Categories have been announced!

After solid deliberations and exhaustive discussion, the 2017 Jury made up of Brit Andresen, Sharon Jansen, Anna Tong and Dave Strachan have confirmed the following Finalists;

Congratulations to the FIVE FINALISTS for the Wirihana Leadership Award;
(in alphabetical order)
Bureaux Ltd (Jessica Barter and Maggie Carroll)
Mary Henry (Jasmax)
Natasha Markham (MAUD)
Rogan Nash (Kate Rogan and Eva Nash)
Sophie Wylie (Artifact)

The Jury reported that this award category was extremely strongly-contested, with many excellent Nominees considered for these top five Finalist positions. The second decade beyond graduation is significant for all architectural careers, and it seems that it is here that the career progression and registration ratio becomes skewed. This award aims to simply shine the spotlight on female leaders at this important stage of their architectural lives.  

Congratulations to the FIVE FINALISTS for the Munro Diversity Award;
(in alphabetical order)
Dorita Hannah (University of Tasmania)
Jane Hill (Chow: Hill)
Jade Kake (Te Matapihi he tirohangi mo te Iwi Trust)
Gillian Macleod & Jackie Gillies (MH Gillian Macleod & Origin Consultants)
Lindley Naismith (Scarlet Architects)

Thank you to all Nominees and Nominators for this award category - again, the jury deliberations were reportedly intense. We believe that the architectural profession is made stronger through the consistent support of those who work hard to promote diversity - in all of its guises, beyond gender. And we love that there are so many examples of people doing this important work. (Note for 2020: this award category is not gender-specific.) 

Congratulations to the FIVE FINALISTS for the Chrystall Excellence Award;
(in alphabetical order)
Jane Aimer and Lindley Naismith (Scarlet Architects)
Clare Athfield (Athfield Architects)
Megan Edwards (Megan Edwards Architects)
Briar Green (Pearson and Associates)
Sarah Treadwell (retired, The University of Auckland)

This award celebrates expanded and full careers, with a major focus being recognition of excellence in a body of work, leadership and contribution to the community through mentorship. We wish to give visibility to women who are leading the way as diverse role models who may inspire younger generations and students alike. The jury seriously considered these aims of the category and they described the debates as an interesting and difficult decision-making process. 

Well Done to all of the Finalists.

Well done, too, to all the Nominees - the high standard of entries in 2017 has made the job for the Jury very difficult, and we hope that you are involved again in this process in future award years.

And thank you to the 2017 Jury, we are certainly glad we didn't have your job!